Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Go to Selected Program Area
Massachusetts State Seal
Students & Families Educators & Administrators Teaching, Learning & Testing Data & Accountability Finance & Funding About the Department Education Board  

The Massachusetts Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Board Documents - May 2017

Special Meeting

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
DESE, 75 Pleasant Street, Malden, MA
Monday, May 22, 2017, 5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.

  1. Progress Reports on Level 5 Districts: Jeff Riley, Lawrence Public Schools; Steve Zrike, Holyoke Public Schools; Jessica Huizenga, Southbridge Public Schools - Discussion

Regular Meeting

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Scituate High School, 606 C J Cushing Hwy, Scituate, MA 02066
Tuesday, May 23, 2017, 9:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.

Comments from the Chair
Comments from the Commissioner
Comments from the Secretary
Statements from the Public*

Meeting Minutes Download Word Document

Routine Business:

Approval of the Minutes of the April 18, 2017 Regular Meeting

Items for Discussion and Action:

  1. Welcome from Scituate High School

  2. Next-Generation MCAS: Update and Review of Standard Setting Process - Discussion

  3. Early College Initiative: Update from Early College Joint Committee - Discussion

  4. State Student Advisory Council End-of-Year Report for 2016-2017 - Discussion

  5. Update on FY 2018 State Education Budget - Discussion

  6. Proposed Schedule for Regular Board Meetings through June 2018 - Discussion

  7. Proposed Amendment to Board By-laws on Remote Participation Download Word Document - Discussion and Vote

Other Items for Information:

  1. Information on Amendments to Accountability Regulations

  2. School Breakfast Report Card from Children's HealthWatch and Eos Foundation

  3. Report on Grants Approved by the Commissioner Download Word Document

Board Members

  • Mr. Paul Sagan, Chair, Cambridge
  • Mr. James Morton, Vice Chair, Boston
  • Ms. Katherine Craven, Brookline
  • Dr. Edward Doherty, Hyde Park
  • Ms. Margaret McKenna, Boston
  • Mr. Nathan Moore, Chair, Student Advisory Council, Scituate
  • Mr. Michael Moriarty, Holyoke
  • Dr. Pendred Noyce, Boston
  • Mr. James Peyser, Secretary of Education, Milton
  • Ms. Mary Ann Stewart, Lexington

Mitchell D. Chester, Commissioner
Secretary to the Board

Last Updated: May 16, 2017
E-mail this page| Print View| Print Pdf  
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Search · A-Z Site Index · Policies · Site Info · Contact DESE