Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Go to Selected Program Area
Massachusetts State Seal
Students & Families Educators & Administrators Teaching, Learning & Testing Data & Accountability Finance & Funding About the Department Education Board  
For Immediate Release
Wednesday, November 10, 2004
Contact:Heidi B. Perlman 781-338-3106

Five Math And Science Teachers Named Finalists For National Award

BOSTON - Education Commissioner David P. Driscoll named two elementary math teachers and three elementary science teachers the state’s finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching at a Statehouse ceremony on Wednesday.

Of the five, one math and one science teacher will be selected as the state’s winners by the National Science Foundation in March.

“These teachers stand out in our state because they do more than teach. They help children understand and appreciate the importance of math and science in their lives,” Commissioner Driscoll said. “Their work in the classroom helps not just our students learn, but other teachers, who can learn much by the excellent examples they set.”

This year’s finalists are:

  • Patricia Ann Juranovits, a sixth grade math teacher at the CD Hunking School, Haverhill.
  • Linda M. Thomasian, a fifth grade math teacher at the Henri A. Yelle Elementary School, Norton.
  • Joyce Lee Coelho, a second grade science teacher at the James Tansey Elementary School, Fall River.
  • Judith Mary Cournoyer, a first grade science teacher at the Eastford Road School, Southbridge.
  • Darren Tyrese Wells, a sixth grade science teacher at the James P. Timilty Middle School, Boston.

One math and one science teacher from each state will be given the Presidential Award. Winners will be notified in March. Each will receive $10,000, and be invited to Washington, D.C. to attend recognition events, receive a Presidential citation and meet with leaders in government and education.

Last year’s Massachusetts winners were Jeffrey Chaffee, a math teacher at Sullivan Middle School in Franklin, and Christine Brothers, a science teacher from Falmouth High School in Falmouth.

Any principal, teacher or student can nominate a teacher for the PAEMST award. Begun in 1983, the award recognizes expertise in teaching in the areas of mathematics and science.

For more information, visit the National Science Foundation Web site at

Last Updated: November 10, 2004
E-mail this page| Print View| Print Pdf  
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Search·Public Records Requests · A-Z Site Index · Policies · Site Info · Contact ESE