Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Go to Selected Program Area
Massachusetts State Seal
Students & Families Educators & Administrators Teaching, Learning & Testing Data & Accountability Finance & Funding About the Department Education Board  
For Immediate Release
Friday, March 31, 2000
Contact:Darrell S. Pressley, 781-338-3126

Revere School And Principal Honored For Improvement On The MCAS

Malden - The Revere principal who was one of the first recipients of a $10,000 Edgerly School Leadership Award will be visited by Commissioner of Education David P. Driscoll and William S. Edgerly, Chairman of the Foundation for Partnerships, on Monday, April 3.

They will meet with Principal William McDonough of Abraham Lincoln School from 8:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. to meet with teachers and students and discuss the reasons for the school's dramatic improvement in MCAS scores.

Five principals were selected by Mr. Edgerly for the performance their students showed, having the highest percentage improvement in overall MCAS scores between 1998 and 1999 in English Language Arts, Mathematics and Science and Technology (with a minimum of 40 students taking the test).

At the Abraham Lincoln School, overall scores increased from 682 in 1998 to 714 in 1999. Scores for English Language Arts moved from 227 in 1998 to 235 this year; Mathematics improved from 224 last year to 238 this year; and Science and Technology scores increased from 231 to 241.

Commissioner Driscoll said, "These visits give us an opportunity to meet with the Edgerly School Leadership Award winners in their schools to acknowledge the hard work being done every day."

Mr. Edgerly said, "These principals have led their schools to impressive improvement. By their example, they heighten appreciation of the principal's role, and direct attention toward future possibilities for our schools."

The other recipients of the first Edgerly School Leadership Awards presented in December 1999, are Rose Marie Di Resta of Riverside Elementary School in Danvers, Mary Brown Daniels of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Elementary School in Hyde Park, Timothy Babcock of the Kensington Elementary School in Springfield, and Principal Peter Sack at Swampscott High School.

The Revere visit will complete the Commissioner's and Mr. Edgerly's visits with all five principals at their schools.

Mr. Edgerly is Chairman Emeritus of State Street Corporation, a graduate of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, former trustee of The General Hospital Corporation, and has served as Chairman of the Metropolitan Boston Housing Partnership and the Boston Private Industry Council.

For more information on the Edgerly School Leadership Awards and other educator recognition programs, visit the Department of Education website.

Last Updated: March 31, 2000
E-mail this page| Print View| Print Pdf  
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Search·Public Records Requests · A-Z Site Index · Policies · Site Info · Contact ESE