Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Go to Selected Program Area
Massachusetts State Seal
Students & Families Educators & Administrators Teaching, Learning & Testing Data & Accountability Finance & Funding About the Department Education Board  

The Board of Education Advisory Councils

Digital Learning Advisory Council

The 2013 virtual schools legislation (Chapter 379 of the Acts of 2012, An Act Establishing Commonwealth Virtual Schools) created a Digital Learning Advisory Council to advise the Board and the Commissioner on:

  • The development of policies guiding virtual schools, supplemental online courses, education technology, and other matters related to virtual education.
  • The identification of best practices to encourage online education to complement classroom instruction in district schools.
  • The assessment of the appropriateness of the fee that the Department may retain for the administration of the virtual school program.

The council members are appointed by the Commissioner, on behalf of the Board. The law requires that the advisory council include one representative from the following organizations:

  • American Federation of Teachers Massachusetts (MFT)
  • Massachusetts Teachers Association (MTA)
  • Massachusetts Association of School Superintendents (MASS)
  • Massachusetts Association of School Committees (MASC)
  • Virtual High School (VHS) Collaborative

The law specifies that four additional members with these qualifications will be appointed:

  • Massachusetts secondary schools administrator
  • Representative of non-profit organization that conducts research and training related to online education
  • Representative of institution of higher education that provides online education for K to 12
  • Parent of student(s) currently attending a virtual school in Massachusetts

Additional at-large members may be appointed by the Commissioner.

In accordance with the law:

  • The members serving on the council may be school committee members, school superintendents, professional educators, parents, students, or individuals with expertise in virtual education. A reasonable balance of members representing business, labor, civic, educational, parental, and professional groups is to be maintained. Members serving on the council are to represent a reasonable statewide geographic balance. The commissioner, with the approval of the board, shall appoint the chair of the council. The commissioner or a designee shall serve as the secretary to the council. The members will be appointed for a term of three years, and can serve up to two consecutive terms.

Annual Report

View HTML Page
2017-2018 Annual Report

FY2018-2019 Council Members

Name TitleInstitutionTerm
Amy A. GraciaTeacher of English and Special EducationGreater New Bedford Regional Vocational Technical High SchoolAugust 2016-2019 (2nd)
Amy MichalowskiDeanThe Virtual High SchoolJanuary 2016-2019 (1st)
Angela BurkeDirector of TechnologyThe Collaborative for Educational ServicesSeptember 2017-2020 (1st)
Annamaria SchrimpfDirector of Education TechnologyMinuteman Regional High SchoolAugust 2016-2019 (2nd)
Barbara TreacyAdjunct Lecturer and Digital Learning ConsultantHarvard University Graduate School of EducationAugust 2016-2019 (2nd)
Cynthia CurryCo-Director of the National Center on Accessible Educational Materials for Learning (AEM Center)Center for Applied Special Technology (CAST)September 2017-2020 (1st)
Elizabeth TripathiEducation Policy SpecialistMassachusetts Teachers Association (MTA)January 2016-2019 (1st)
Fred HaasTechnology Integration CoordinatorHopkinton High SchoolAugust 2016-2019 (2nd)
Justin ReichExecutive Director, MIT Teaching Systems LabMassachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)August 2016-2019 (2nd)
Kevin BaumanSenior Director of Product ManagementPenn FosterAugust 2016-2019 (2nd)
Kyle W. ShachmutProject Manager for Accessibility at HarvardXHarvard UniversityAugust 2016-2019 (2nd)
Michael HornAuthor of Blended: Using Disruptive Innovation to Improve Schools and Disrupting Class: How Disruptive Innovation Will Change the Way the World LearnsWriter, speaker, and education consultantAugust 2016-2019 (2nd)
Peter SanchioniSuperintendentNatick Public Schools / Massachusetts Association of School Superintendents (MASS)August 2016-2019 (2nd)
Robert ReillySchool Committee MemberNorthern Berkshire Regional Vocational Technical / Massachusetts Association of School Committees (MASC)December 2017-2020 (1st)
Sarah KyriazisManager of Instructional Technology and Digital LearningWorcester Public SchoolsJanuary 2016-2019 (1st)
VacantParent of student(s) currently attending a virtual school in Massachusetts  
Vacant (Invited)American Federation of Teachers Massachusetts (MFT) 

FY2018-2019 Meeting Schedule

Friday, September 14, 2018 10:00 AM – Noon Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Room 202
75 Pleasant St, Malden, MA 02148

FY2017-2018 Meeting Schedule

Friday, May 18, 2018 10:00 AM Noon Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Room 137A
75 Pleasant St, Malden, MA 02148
Friday, December 15, 2017 10:00 AM – Noon Natick Town Hall
13 E Central Street
Natick, MA 01760
Tuesday, December 5, 2017 9:30 AM – 10:30 AM Sustainability and Planning Subcommittee
Minuteman Career and Technical High School
758 Marrett Road
Lexington, MA 02421
Download Word Document
Friday, September 15, 2017 10:00 AM – Noon Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Room 201
75 Pleasant St, Malden, MA 02148
Download Word Document

Department Liaisons

Kenneth Klau
Director of the Office of Digital Learning


Last Updated: August 29, 2018
E-mail this page| Print View| Print Pdf  
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Search · A-Z Site Index · Policies · Site Info · Contact DESE