Patrick Administration Honors Educators from across the Commonwealth- Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
For Immediate Release
Thursday, June 12, 2014
Contact:Jacqueline Reis 781-338-3115

Patrick Administration Honors Educators from across the Commonwealth

BOSTON - State and local education officials today recognized the Massachusetts Teacher of the Year and other recipients of the Commonwealth's top honors for educators.

"The dedication and commitment of the educators being honored makes our Commonwealth stronger," said Governor Deval Patrick. "These honorees represent the very best of the teaching profession, and we are fortunate they are doing their great work here in Massachusetts."

During a ceremony held at the State House, officials presented awards to Dr. Jeffrey Shea, a Belmont High School social studies teacher who has been selected as the 2015 Teacher of the Year, as well as finalists and semifinalists for the award. The 2014 Massachusetts History Teacher of the Year; the 2013 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching finalists; and the 2013 Milken Family Foundation National Educator were also recognized.

Kevin Delaney, a teacher at Wayland High School, was named the 2014 Massachusetts History Teacher of the Year.

"These educators are the leaders we depend on to show us what is possible in public education today," said Secretary of Education Matthew Malone. "It is because of the professionals being honored today that Massachusetts leads the nation in student achievement."

The Massachusetts Teacher of the Year Program, which is administered by the Patrick Administration, recognizes excellence in teaching across the Commonwealth each school year by selecting a teacher who exemplifies the dedication, commitment and positive contributions of educators statewide. The Massachusetts Teacher of the Year is automatically the state's candidate for National Teacher of the Year. While remaining in the classroom, Shea will serve as ambassador to the teaching profession over the next year by making speeches and conducting workshops throughout the state.

"The teachers recognized today represent thousands of dedicated educators who work on behalf of our students every day," said Elementary and Secondary Education Commissioner Mitchell Chester. "The success Massachusetts students and schools enjoy is due to the hard work, knowledge, passion and creativity of our entire educator workforce."

Shea, who grew up in Andover and lives in Arlington, graduated from Tulane University, Endicott College, the College for International Studies in Madrid and Northeastern University. He believes it is his duty to help students look beyond their own lives to consider the lives of others, and he believes doing so also leads to effective teaching and learning. In addition to American Studies, he teaches global leadership, a course he designed.

His students have done video conferences with classrooms in Jordan, visited the Boston office of the global non-profit Partners in Health, and run and publicized a screening of "Girl Rising," a film about obstacles to girls' education in parts of the developing world.

The National History Teacher of the Year program is sponsored by the Gilder Lehman Institute of American History, the History Channel and Preserve America. Delaney will represent Massachusetts as a candidate for the national award. The state History Teacher of the Year receives a $1,000 grant, and the recipient's school is presented with a collection of classroom resources donated in that teacher's name.

Delaney is a graduate of the University of Massachusetts at Amherst and received a master of arts degree in U.S. history from the University of Massachusetts at Boston. He has taught at Wayland High School since 1992.

The 2015 Teacher of the Year finalists honored today were:

  • Nancy G. Barile, English teacher, Revere High School
  • Rebecca Duda, eighth grade social studies teacher, Lakeview Junior High School, Dracut
  • Adam Ingano, 11th and 12th grade history teacher, Clinton High School
  • Daniel Lipton, second grade teacher, Edward Devotion School, Brookline

The 2015 Teacher of the Year semifinalists honored today were:

  • Kevin Crowley, severe special needs teacher, Triton Regional High School, Byfield
  • Kristen D'Errico, social studies teacher, Foxborough High School
  • Paul Harrington, visual art and design teacher, John Glenn Middle School, Bedford
  • Talmadge Nardi, English teacher, Academy of the Pacific Rim Charter School, Boston
  • Brian Shanbrun, music teacher, Albert F. Ford Middle School, Acushnet

Also recognized on Thursday were the 2103 Milken Family Foundation Award winner James Moonan, who is a Grade 6 math teacher at Charles S. Pierce Middle School in Milton, and the finalists of the 2013 Presidential Awards for Excellence in mathematics and Science, who were:

  • Susannah Cowden, science teacher, Roxbury Preparatory Charter, Boston
  • Suzanne Kubik, math teacher, Middleboro High School
  • Benadette Manning, math teacher, Fenway High School, Boston
  • Paul McGuinness, science teacher, Cambridge Rindge and Latin
  • Aaron Osowiecki, science teacher, Boston Latin School
  • Maureen Parker, science teacher, Cyril Locket Middle School, Billerica

Known as the "Oscars of Teaching," the Milken awards were established to provide public recognition and individual rewards of $25,000 to elementary and secondary teachers, principals and specialists who are furthering excellence in education. The Presidential Award program was enacted by Congress in 1983. Winners receive a trip to Washington, D.C. and a $10,000 award.

Last Updated: June 12, 2014

Contact Us

Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
75 Pleasant Street, Malden, MA 02148-4906

Voice: (781) 338-3000
TTY: (800) 439-2370


Disclaimer: A reference in this website to any specific commercial products, processes, or services, or the use of any trade, firm, or corporation name is for the information and convenience of the public and does not constitute endorsement or recommendation by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.