Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Go to Selected Program Area
Massachusetts State Seal
Students & Families Educators & Administrators Teaching, Learning & Testing Data & Accountability Finance & Funding About the Department Education Board  
For Immediate Release
Friday, October 31, 1997
Contact:John Costello

Eleven Massachusetts High School Students Named as 1998 U.S. Senate Scholarship Finalists

Malden - Massachusetts Education Commissioner Robert V. Antonucci announced today that eleven Massachusetts high school students have been selected as finalists for the 1998 U.S. Senate Scholarship Program.

This year, 347 Massachusetts public and private high school juniors and seniors, currently serving as elected leaders in their schools, applied for the prestigious program which recognizes students for their leadership ability and scholarship. The students are required to take a qualifying exam on government and civics, and the eleven finalists are the top scorers on the exam.

During a final essay competition and final round of interviews, two students who best demonstrate their outstanding leadership potential will be selected to represent Massachusetts as delegates at a week-long, all expenses paid trip to Washington, D.C., where the students will meet with legislative and government officials and learn about the legislative process. The delegates will also receive a $2,000 scholarship towards their college tuition. The two Massachusetts delegates will be announced in December by Senators Edward Kennedy and John Kerry.

"These eleven students are outstanding leaders in their school communities and represent the promise for excellence in future leadership roles. All are excellent candidates for the award and I am proud of each one of them for their hard work in reaching this stage," stated Commissioner Antonucci.

The 1998 finalists are: Andrea Ball, of West Newbury, Pentucket Regional School; Nicholas Farrell, Holliston High School; Sean Haire, Accelerated Learning High School of Worcester; Lisa Hayford, Amesbury High School; Kendra Q. Kemp, Duxbury High School; Michael O'Donnell, of Dedham, Noble and Greenough School; Zachary Perry, Boston Latin High School; Nicolas Plant, Accelerated Learning High School of Worcester; Moira Shea, Salem High School; Duncan Smith-Rohrberg, Falmouth High School; Nicholas Tzitzon, Haverhill High School.

The U.S. Senate Scholarship program was established in 1962 to introduce high school students to the functions of the federal government. The program is funded by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.

Last Updated: October 31, 1997
E-mail this page| Print View| Print Pdf  
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Search·Public Records Requests · A-Z Site Index · Policies · Site Info · Contact ESE