Presidential Scholarship Program Recognizes Fifteen Massachusetts High School Seniors- Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
For Immediate Release
Wednesday, May 1, 1996
Contact:John Costello

Presidential Scholarship Program Recognizes Fifteen Massachusetts High School Seniors

Malden - Massachusetts Education Commissioner Robert V. Antonucci announced today that fifteen Massachusetts high school students have been selected as semifinalists for the 1996 Presidential Scholars Program honoring the top high school seniors in the country.

The program, administered annually by the United States Commission of Presidential Scholars, was established in 1964 by Executive Order of the President to recognize and honor outstanding achievement among graduating high school seniors.

This year, the Commission, a panel of 32 educators and business people across the country, identified some 2,700 students for consideration based on their exceptional scores on the SAT and ACT or participation in the Arts Recognition and Talent Search (ARTS). To be considered further, students were required to submit candidacy materials, including essays, self-assessments and transcripts.

The fifteen Massachusetts semifinalists are among five hundred high school seniors selected from across the United States, including the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and from families of U.S. citizens living abroad.

The Massachusetts semifinalists are: Sheela Hegde of Acton-Boxborough Regional High School, Sarah Cohen of Belmont High School, Adam Wiener of Brookline High School, David Lampson of Buckingham Browne & Nichols School in Cambridge, Christopher Amar of Lexington High School, Jacob Krich of Lexington High School, Margot Minardi of Lexington High School, Sarah Hess of Medfield High School, Wendy Law of Walnut Hill School in Natick, Rachel Stanley of Newton South High School, Elizabeth Holt of Plymouth South High School, Veeral Shah of Saint Johns High School in Shrewsbury, Michael Bartley of Waltham Senior High School, Carrie Schneider of Wayland High School, and Justin Crane of Minnechaug Regional High School in Wilbraham.

"It is a great tribute to these students to be honored at the national level." said Robert V. Antonucci, Commissioner of Education. "This is an opportunity to recognize those who have consistently demonstrated excellence both in and out of the classroom. I congratulate these students, their parents and their teachers on their outstanding achievements."

Scholars are chosen on the basis of their accomplishments in the areas of academic and artistic success, leadership, and involvement in school and the community. As many as one hundred and forty-one scholars will be selected, including one male and one female student from each state.

In May, President Clinton will notify all Presidential Scholars of their selection, and finalists will receive a trip to Washington, D.C. to be honored at the White House during Presidential Scholars National Recognition Week.

Last year, fourteen Massachusetts students were selected as semifinalists and two were ultimately named Presidential Scholars.

Last Updated: May 1, 1996

Contact Us

Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
75 Pleasant Street, Malden, MA 02148-4906

Voice: (781) 338-3000
TTY: (800) 439-2370


Disclaimer: A reference in this website to any specific commercial products, processes, or services, or the use of any trade, firm, or corporation name is for the information and convenience of the public and does not constitute endorsement or recommendation by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.