Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Go to Selected Program Area
Massachusetts State Seal
Students & Families Educators & Administrators Teaching, Learning & Testing Data & Accountability Finance & Funding About the Department Education Board  
For Immediate Release
Tuesday, January 30, 2001
Contact:Jonathan Palumbo, 781-338-3105

Massachusetts Students Honored for the United States Senate Youth Program

Malden - Two Massachusetts high school students have been announced by Senators Edward M. Kennedy and John F. Kerry as the Massachusetts delegates to the 39th United States Senate Youth Program which will be held March 3 through 10 in Washington, D.C.

Andrew Churella, senior class president at Bedford High School, and Rory McGovern, student council member at Haverhill High School, were chosen for the national program.

Commissioner of Education David P. Driscoll, "Congratulations to all of the students selected for this program. The United States Senate Youth Program recognizes students for their commitment to their schools, families, and communities, and they should be proud of this honor."

Senator Edward M. Kennedy said, "It is a great tribute to their scholastic and community achievements that Andrew and Rory have been chosen as the Massachusetts delegates for this year’s program. I congratulate them on this recognition and I extend my best wishes for their continued success in the future."

Senator John F. Kerry said, "Andrew and Rory have earned this wonderful honor through their tremendous commitment to their schools, peers, and their communities. Emily and Matthew’s selection should make their families, friends, and communities very proud."

To be selected for the award, students had to score well on a state and federal government knowledge exam, and complete an interview process by an interview committee. The top 10 in Massachusetts were chosen, and from that group, the two seniors were selected along with two alternates.

Each of the 104 delegates will receive a $2,000 college scholarship that is made possible by a grant from the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.

Alternates to the 2001 program are Kevin Sullivan of Canton, who attends Bishop Feehan High School and Sean Edmunds who attends Lynn Classical High School.

In addition, 102 other high school students were elected as high school student body officers, two from each state, the District of Columbia, and the Department of Defense Dependents Schools Overseas, will make the trip to Washington, D.C. from March 3 through 10, for a week of intensive study of the federal government and the United States Senate. The program is sponsored by United States Senators and the Hearst Foundation.

For more information on this program, visit the Department of Education’s website at

Last Updated: January 30, 2001
E-mail this page| Print View| Print Pdf  
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Search·Public Records Requests · A-Z Site Index · Policies · Site Info · Contact ESE