For Immediate Release
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Contact:Jacqueline Reis 781-338-3115

Baker Administration Honors Educators from Across the Commonwealth

Boston - State and local education officials today recognized the Massachusetts Teacher of the Year and other recipients of the Commonwealth's top honors for educators. "Lieutenant Governor Polito and I send our heartfelt congratulations to all the winners and nominees for the excellence in teaching awards presented today," said Governor Charlie Baker. "Massachusetts is a national leader in education, and we are grateful to those teachers who work tirelessly every day to ensure that our students have the best possible chance to succeed." During a ceremony held at the State House, officials presented awards to Audrey H. Jackson, a fifth grade teacher at the Joseph P. Manning School in Boston who has been selected as the 2016 Teacher of the Year, as well as finalists and semifinalists for the award. The 2015 Massachusetts History Teacher of the Year; the 2014 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching finalists; and the 2014 Milken Family Foundation National Educator were also recognized. David C. McGlothlin, Jr., a teacher at Provincetown Schools in Provincetown, was named the 2015 Massachusetts History Teacher of the Year. The Massachusetts Teacher of the Year Program recognizes excellence in teaching across the Commonwealth each school year by selecting a teacher who exemplifies the dedication, commitment and positive contributions of educators statewide. The Massachusetts Teacher of the Year is automatically the state's candidate for National Teacher of the Year. While remaining in the classroom, Mrs. Jackson will serve as ambassador to the teaching profession over the next year by making speeches and conducting workshops throughout the state. "It is a pleasure to recognize these dedicated educators who represent the strong teaching force we have statewide," said Elementary and Secondary Education Commissioner Mitchell Chester. "The educators here today find great joy in their students' success and are committed to their own growth and development." Mrs. Jackson, who grew up in Vermont and lives in Boston, graduated from Williams College, the Boston Teacher Residency program, and the Harvard Graduate School of Education. Mrs. Jackson is a co-teacher in an inclusion classroom, and she has a special interest in effective interventions for youth who have experienced trauma. Jackson believes "all children have the capacity to believe in themselves and thrive; sometimes they just need a little help seeing their own worth." The National History Teacher of the Year program is sponsored by the Gilder Lehman Institute of American History, the History Channel and Preserve America. David C. McGlothlin, Jr. will represent Massachusetts as a candidate for the national award. The state History Teacher of the Year receives a $1,000 grant, and the recipient's school is presented with a collection of classroom resources donated in that teacher's name. Mr. McGlothlin graduated from Emory & Henry College with a bachelor's degree in history and received a master's degree from George Mason University. He has taught at Provincetown Schools since 2006. The 2016 Teacher of the Year finalists honored today were:
  • Bridget Adam, sixth grade math teacher, Boston Collegiate Charter School
  • David Kujawski, sixth grade science teacher, Bird Middle School, Walpole
  • Jennifer Ormerod, second grade teacher, Palmer River Elementary School, Rehoboth
  • Brett Pangburn, sixth grade English teacher, Excel Academy Charter School in Boston
The 2016 Teacher of the Year semifinalists honored today were:
  • Jesse Abrams, fifth grade teacher, Boston Renaissance Charter School, Boston
  • Deven Antani, English teacher, Dighton-Rehoboth Regional High School, Dighton
  • Ryan Casey, math teacher, Orchard Gardens K-8 Pilot School, Boston
  • Pamela Dalton, art teacher, Harry Lee Cole School, Boxford
  • Caitlin Murphy, world history teacher, The English High School, Boston
Also recognized on Thursday were the 2014 Milken Family Foundation Award winner Anthony Petrelis, who is a fifth grade teacher at John J. McGlynn Elementary School in Medford, and finalists for the 2014 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science, who are:
  • Mary Cowhey, Title I math, Jackson Street School, Northampton
  • John Heffernen, technology coordinator, Williamsburg Elementary School, Williamsburg
  • Nicole Hoyceanyls, sixth grade science teacher, Pierce Middle School, Milton
  • Timothy Mulvehill, fourth grade teacher, Boston Renaissance Charter School, Boston
  • Angela Palo, science specialist, Horace Mann School for the Deaf, Allston
  • Karen Schweitzer, math teacher, Anne T. Dunphy School, Williamsburg
Known as the "Oscars of Teaching," the Milken awards were established to provide public recognition and individual rewards of $25,000 to elementary and secondary teachers, principals and specialists who are furthering excellence in education. The Presidential Award program was enacted by Congress in 1983. Winners receive a trip to Washington, D.C. and a $10,000 award. ###

Last Updated: June 11, 2015

Contact Us

Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
75 Pleasant Street, Malden, MA 02148-4906

Voice: (781) 338-3000
TTY: (800) 439-2370


Disclaimer: A reference in this website to any specific commercial products, processes, or services, or the use of any trade, firm, or corporation name is for the information and convenience of the public and does not constitute endorsement or recommendation by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.