Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Go to Selected Program Area
Massachusetts State Seal
Students & Families Educators & Administrators Teaching, Learning & Testing Data & Accountability Finance & Funding About the Department Education Board  
For Immediate Release
Friday, May 19, 2000
Contact:Darrell S. Pressley, 781-338-3126

Commissioner of Education and City of Lawrence Appoint Search Committee for New Superintendent

Malden - Commissioner of Education David P. Driscoll and Lawrence Mayor Patricia Dowling today appointed a committee to search for a new superintendent for Lawrence Public Schools.

Dr. Matt George, who is serving as a representative to the Department of Education, will serve as chairman of the nine-member search committee.

Commissioner Driscoll said, "We have some very good people who are interested in the City of Lawrence. I believe we can find the right person to meet the educational challenge."

The agreement between the City of Lawrence and the Massachusetts Department of Education, which averted state takeover of city schools, requires that the superintendent search committee be comprised of four members appointed by Commissioner Driscoll and five members appointed by Mayor Dowling. Both Commissioner Driscoll and Mayor Dowling agreed on the appointment of all nine search committee members.

Mayor Dowling said, "Commissioner Driscoll and I worked together in appointing this committee. We are of one accord in working toward our goal of improving the Lawrence Public Schools."

The search committee will begin its screening process within the next two weeks, and will ultimately recommend applicants for final review by the Lawrence School Committee.

The search committee is comprised of a cross section of community interests. The nine members of the committee are:

Matt George, former Brockton Superintendent of Schools
Richard Santagati, President of Merrimack College
Gary Marcoux, President of the Lawrence Teachers' Union
Nestor DeJesus, Lawrence Latino business leader
Alida Alcantara, Lawrence resident and teacher at the Lawrence Family Development Charter School
Susan Tucker, State Senator representing Lawrence
Sharman Sullivan, Lawrence elementary school principal
Annette Burba, Lawrence High School teacher
Daniel Rivera, Lawrence parent

Last Updated: May 19, 2000
E-mail this page| Print View| Print Pdf  
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Search·Public Records Requests · A-Z Site Index · Policies · Site Info · Contact ESE