Fifteen Massachusetts High School Seniors are Named as Presidential Scholars Semifinalists for 1999- Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
For Immediate Release
Thursday, April 22, 1999
Contact:Jan O'Keefe Feldman

Fifteen Massachusetts High School Seniors are Named as Presidential Scholars Semifinalists for 1999

Malden - Massachusetts Education Commissioner David P. Driscoll announced today that fifteen Massachusetts high school seniors have been selected as semifinalists for the 1999 Presidential Scholars Program, one of the nation's highest honors for high school seniors.

The fifteen Massachusetts public and private high school seniors are among 500 semifinalists nationally who were selected based on two paths of accomplishment. Most of the semifinalists were selected for their outstanding academic achievement and exceptional scores on college entrance exams, and nearly fifty of the students were selected on the basis of their achievement in the visual arts, performing arts or creative writing. Application is by invitation only; students may not apply nor may their schools nominate them.

The 1999 Massachusetts semifinalists are: Carolyn S. Avery, Newton South High School in Newton; Hannah L. Bowen, Swampscott High School in Swampscott; Suelin Chen, Lincoln-Sudbury High School in Sudbury; James C. Cox, Milton Academy in Milton; Sarah J. Haig, Arlington High School in Arlington; Joshua M. Humi, Maimonides School in Brookline; Jessica A. Kadis, Winsor School in Boston; Shevaun A. Mizrahi, Concord-Carlisle Regional High School in Concord; Jeremy E. Smoler, Lexington High School in Lexington; Aaron C. Snyder, Groton School in Groton; Daniel D. Springer, Westwood High School in Westwood; Mary A. Waggener, Newton North High School in Newtonville; Kenneth A. Weinstein, Lexington High School in Lexington; Peter D. Welch, Roxbury Latin School in Boston; David Y. Xiao, Wayland High School in Wayland.

"These fifteen promising students are outstanding young men and women," said Commissioner Driscoll. "All are excellent candidates for the award, and it is a great honor that each student has reached this stage. Congratulations to all the semifinalists, their families, their teachers, schools and communities."

This month, The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars reviews the applications of all 500 national semifinalists, and selects up to 121 academic scholars and up to 20 arts scholars. The 1999 Presidential Scholars will receive an expense-paid trip to Washington, DC in June, where they will be honored during National Recognition Week. During the week, the scholars will meet government officials, educators, musicians and scientists, and they will visit museums and attend receptions and recitals. The highlight of the week will take place at a White House-sponsored ceremony, where each scholar will be awarded the Presidential Scholars medallion.

The Presidential Scholars program was established in 1964 by Executive Order of the President to recognize some of the nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors.

Last Updated: April 22, 1999

Contact Us

Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
75 Pleasant Street, Malden, MA 02148-4906

Voice: (781) 338-3000
TTY: (800) 439-2370


Disclaimer: A reference in this website to any specific commercial products, processes, or services, or the use of any trade, firm, or corporation name is for the information and convenience of the public and does not constitute endorsement or recommendation by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.