Stay informed about Coronavirus — COVID-19. Learn more
Read the initial return-to-school guidance.

School Redesign

Massachusetts Innovation Schools Annual Evaluation

To:Superintendents in Districts with Innovation Schools or Innovation Academies
From:Alison Bagg, Director, Office of Charter Schools and School Redesign
Date:May 29, 2020

The Innovation Schools Statute (M.G.L., c. 71, § 92), requires superintendents in districts with innovation schools and/or academies to evaluate these schools at least annually. The purpose of the evaluation is to determine whether the school and/or academy has met the annual goals articulated in its approved innovation plan and to assess the implementation of the innovation plan. These annual evaluations must be submitted to the local School Committee as well as to the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (Department) by August 1, 2020.

In an effort to assist superintendents with completing the evaluation of each innovation school or academy, the Department requests that superintendents use the innovation schools annual evaluation template Download Word Document. The Department has updated the evaluation template. The updated template requires superintendents to describe how innovation schools/academies monitor and assess the experience and performance of its students and teachers. Additionally, the updated template asks superintendents to describe how innovation schools/academies respond to or address any observed disparities in outcomes or access. The template can be found on the Department's innovation schools website at Annual Evaluations. Use of this template is strongly encouraged since its revisions provide clear and easy-to-use tables to input school and/or academy data, information, and responses. If superintendents wish to use another format, please be sure to provide the Department with the required information, which can be found within the template itself.

Districts must submit an evaluation for each of its innovation schools and academies that have been in operation for at least one full academic year in FY20 (school year 2019-2020) via email to Brenton Stewart by August 1, 2020.

The Department will use the evaluations to inform decisions about how best to support innovation schools in the future, as well as to inform the required annual report to the legislature about innovation schools. Should you have any questions about the evaluation process or the template, please contact Brenton Stewart, Coordinator of School Redesign and Impact at or (781) 338-3214.

If innovation status has ended for any schools or academies in your district, please complete all the applicable sections of the annual evaluation. Finally, include the date innovation status ended as well as any other relevant updates (such as school committee minutes of when the vote occurred to end innovation status) within the final section of the evaluation template.

Please see the list below of districts that implement(ed) innovation schools or academies at any point in time over the past three school years. For Department record keeping purposes, please email if new innovation schools or academies have been created within this time frame, or if any school or academy has closed prior to FY20.

District Name

  • Amesbury
  • Auburn
  • Boston
  • Cape Cod
  • Dennis-Yarmouth
  • Falmouth
  • Fitchburg
  • Gloucester
  • Greenfield
  • Haverhill
  • Leominster
  • Lowell
  • Malden
  • New Bedford
  • Orange
  • Pentucket
  • Quabbin
  • Quaboag
  • Ralph C. Mahar
  • Revere
  • Salem
  • Somerville
  • Springfield
  • West Springfield

Last Updated: May 29, 2020

Contact Us

Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
75 Pleasant Street, Malden, MA 02148-4906

Voice: (781) 338-3000
TTY: (800) 439-2370


Disclaimer: A reference in this website to any specific commercial products, processes, or services, or the use of any trade, firm, or corporation name is for the information and convenience of the public and does not constitute endorsement or recommendation by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.