Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Go to Selected Program Area
Massachusetts State Seal
Students & Families Educators & Administrators Teaching, Learning & Testing Data & Accountability Finance & Funding About the Department Education Board  

Science, Technology Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM)

Digital Literacy and Computer Science (DLCS)

Digital Literacy and Computer Science (DLCS) knowledge, reasoning, and skills are essential both to prepare students for personal and civic efficacy in the twenty-first century and to prepare and inspire a much larger and more diverse number of students to pursue the innovative and creative careers of the future. In Massachusetts, DLCS instruction includes the areas of computing and society, digital tools and collaboration, computing systems, and computational thinking.

Although, Digital Literacy, Information Technology and Computer Science are distinctive in nature, it is essential to take an inclusive approach to teaching and preparing our students for today's modern society.

The standards represent the core elements of digital literacy and computer science, not the totality of each.

DLCS Learning Standards

Download PDF Document  Download Word Document
2016 DLCS Curriculum Framework

DLCS Instructional Resources

  • DLCS 5–12 License

    Interested in getting the 5–12 DLCS Teacher License?
    There currently is no Massachusetts Tests for Educator Licensure (MTEL) for this license and therefore the Competency Review Process Download PDF Document is used for this license. For more information on licensure please refer to the Office of Educator Licensure and the Licensure Requirement Tool.

    What are the 5–12 DLCS Teacher subject matter knowledge requirements?

    Digital Literacy and Computer Science — Grades 5–12
    1. Computing and Society
      1. Understand safety and security concepts, security and recovery strategies, and how to deal with cyberbullying and peer pressure in a social computing setting. (Standards: 6-8.CAS.a and 9-12.CAS.a)
      2. Understand, analyze impact and intent of, and apply technology laws, license agreements and permissions. (Standards: 6-8.CAS.b and 9-12.CAS.b)
      3. Recognize, analyze, and evaluate the impact of technology, assistive technology, technology proficiencies, and cybercrime in people's lives, commerce, and society. (Standards: 6-8.CAS.c and 9-12.CAS.c)
    2. Digital Tools & Collaboration and Computing Systems
      1. Selection and use of digital tools or resources and computing devices to create an artifact, solve a problem, communicate, publish online or accomplish a real-world task. (Standards: 6-8.DTC.a, 9-12.DTC.a, 6-8.DTC.b, 9-12.DTC.b, 6-8.CS.a and 9-12.CS.a)
      2. Use of advance research skills including advanced searches, digital source evaluation, synthesis of information and appropriate digital citation. (Standards: 6-8.DTC.c and 9-12.DTC.c)
      3. Understand how computing device components work. Use of troubleshooting strategies to solve routine hardware and software problems. (Standards: 6-8.CS.a, 9-12.CS.a, 6-8.CS.b, and 9-12.CS.b)
      4. Understand how networks communicate, their vulnerabilities and issues that may impact their functionality. Evaluate the benefits of using a service with respect to function and quality. (Standards: 6-8.CS.c, 9-12.CS.c, 6-8.CS.d, and 9-12.CS.d)
    3. Computational Thinking
      1. Creation of new representations, through generalization and decomposition. Write and debug algorithms in a structured language. (Standards: 6-8.CT.a, 9-12.CT.a, 6-8.CT.b, and 9-12.CT.b)
      2. Understand how different data representation affects storage and quality. Create, modify, and manipulate data structures, data sets, and data visualizations. (Standards: 6-8.CT.c and 9-12.CT.c)
      3. Decompose tasks/problems into sub-problems to plan solutions. (Standards: 6-8.CT.d and 9-12.CT.d)
      4. Creation of programs using an iterative design process to create an artifact or solve a problem. (Standards: 6-8.CT.d and 9-12.CT.d)
      5. Creation of models and simulations to formulate, test, analyze, and refine a hypothesis. (Standards: 6-8.CT.e and 9-12.CT.e)

  • Professional Development Resources

  • Curriculum Planning Tools

  • Classroom Resources

  • DLCS Networks and Associations

  • Grant Opportunities

DLCS Contact

NamePhone Number
Anne DeMallie781-338-3527

Last Updated: April 2, 2018
E-mail this page| Print View| Print Pdf  
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Search·Public Records Requests · A-Z Site Index · Policies · Site Info · Contact DESE