Massachusetts Tests for Educator Licensure (MTEL)
Frequently Asked Questions
What if I don't pass?
In order to become a licensed educator in Massachusetts public schools, you must pass the appropriate MTEL test(s). You may take the test(s) as many times as necessary to achieve a passing score.
Can the test requirement be waived?
No. The test is required by Massachusetts law.
How can I get a copy of my score report?
Score reports are available from the MTEL website for 45 days beginning with the score report date. During this time period, you may view, print, and save your score report for your records at no cost. After that time, you can request an additional score report by logging in to your account on the MTEL website, select "View Testing History," and follow the instructions provided. Or you may instead complete the Additional Score Report Request Form and mail it to Evaluation Systems, Pearson. There is a $10 fee for each additional score report.
Can I view the test?
No. The test booklets, answer documents, and all other test materials must be kept secure from disclosure in order to ensure that the test remains a fair and effective assessment of candidates for licensure. Materials are therefore not available for review either before or after taking the test.
Table of Contents