Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Logo
The Department has moved to 135 Santilli Highway in Everett. The Department's office and Licensure Welcome Center are open. The new location has free parking and is a short walk from the Wellington station on the MBTA's Orange Line.

Adult and Community Learning Services (ACLS)

For Immediate Release
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Contact:Jacqueline Reis 781-338-3115

Baker-Polito Administration Honors 51 Schools

Schools recognized for high achievement, strong progress or narrowing gaps

MALDEN - The Baker-Polito Administration today held a ceremony at the State House to recognize 51 schools for high achievement, narrowing achievement gaps between groups of students or making strong progress. The schools were recognized as 2016 National Blue Ribbon Schools, state-designated Commendation Schools or National Title I Distinguished Schools. "I'm proud that our Massachusetts K—12 education system is one of the best in the country, and I thank the educators and communities across the Commonwealth who are leading the way and providing high-quality educational opportunities for their students every day," said Governor Charlie Baker. "It's an honor to recognize these schools, their students and their families for all of their success and hard work toward closing achievement gaps in Massachusetts." "It is a pleasure to recognize these high-performing schools from all corners of the Commonwealth," said Lieutenant Governor Karyn Polito. "Their communities should take great pride in their shared accomplishments, and we look forward to each school continuing to build upon their hard work in the future." "Today's ceremony is another chance to celebrate Massachusetts' strong public school system and to acknowledge that excellence can be found in a variety of types of schools and settings," said Education Secretary James Peyser. "I am grateful to all the educators, students and community members who made these schools strong." "The schools we are recognizing today are doing tremendous work for their students," said Elementary and Secondary Education Commissioner Mitchell Chester. "It is a pleasure to honor these 51 schools and the educators, students and communities who support them." The schools are being recognized in one of the following categories: 2016 National Blue Ribbon Schools (three schools): Each year, the U.S. Department of Education asks the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education to nominate a small number of schools for consideration as National Blue Ribbon Schools. The program recognizes schools whose students achieve at very high levels or schools that make significant progress in closing the achievement gap. More information is available at U.S. Department of Education. The school names were released in late September. Commendation Schools (46 schools): Each year, a subset of Level 1 schools is recognized as Commendation Schools for their academic accomplishments. A school can be commended for demonstrating very high achievement, showing strong progress overall, and/or for making strong progress toward narrowing proficiency gaps. The schools were initially announced in September. National Title I Distinguished Schools (two schools): Each year, the National Title I Association asks states to nominate two schools where students perform at very high levels, where the school has made significant progress in closing the achievement gap or where the school has demonstrated excellence in serving special populations of students. More information regarding the Title I Distinguished School program is available at National Title I Distinguished Schools. The recipients are as follows: 2016 National Blue Ribbon Schools:
  • Daniel Butler Elementary School (Belmont Public Schools)
  • Morris Elementary School (Lenox Public Schools)
  • Merrymount Elementary School (Quincy Public Schools)
2016 National Title I Distinguished Schools:
  • Pawtucketville Memorial School (Lowell Public Schools)
  • Benjamin Banneker Charter Public School
2016 Massachusetts Commendation Schools:
Acton-BoxboroughRaymond J. Grey Junior High
BarnstableHyannis West Elementary
BellinghamSouth Elementary
BelmontMary Lee Burbank
Daniel Butler
Benjamin Banneker Charter Public (in Cambridge)
BostonDonald McKay
Manassah E. Bradley
Patrick J. Kennedy
Brooke Charter School East Boston
CantonLt. Peter M. Hansen
ChelseaEdgar A. Hooks Elementary
EasthamEastham Elementary
FoxboroughMabelle M. Burrell
GatewayLittleville Elementary School
HinghamPlymouth River
HinghamSouth Elementary
LawrenceHealth & Human Services High School
LowellPawtucketville Memorial
Manchester Essex RegionalManchester Essex Regional High School
MarbleheadMalcolm L. Bell
MasconometMasconomet Regional Middle School
MedfieldDale Street
MelroseHerbert Clark Hoover
NashobaCenter School
NeedhamJohn Eliot
High Rock School
North ReadingL. D. Batchelder
SharonHeights Elementary
ShrewsburySpring Street
SomervilleBenjamin G. Brown
SpringfieldWhite Street
STEM Middle Academy
WachusettThomas Prince
WalpoleOld Post Road
WellesleyJoseph E. Fiske
WestboroughJ. Harding Armstrong
Westborough High
WilliamstownWilliamstown Elementary
WinchesterLincoln Elementary
Vinson-Owen Elementary
WorcesterChandler Elementary Community
West Tatnuck

Last Updated: February 1, 2017

Contact Us

Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
135 Santilli Highway, Everett, MA 02149

Voice: (781) 338-3000
TTY: (800) 439-2370


Disclaimer: A reference in this website to any specific commercial products, processes, or services, or the use of any trade, firm, or corporation name is for the information and convenience of the public and does not constitute endorsement or recommendation by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.