College, Career and Technical Education

Summer Acceleration to College Program for Students Earning the Modified Competency Determination

Due to the COVID pandemic, college enrollment across the nation and the Commonwealth in Fall 2020 was significantly lower as compared to previous years. The purpose of this targeted grant program is to help mitigate that issue for this year, by providing a foundation of services within Massachusetts community colleges in Summer 2021 for students in the class of 2021 that graduated under the modified competency determination to prepare academically for college level English and mathematics, transition effectively into and ultimately complete postsecondary education.

The priorities of this funding opportunity is to support summer programming in community colleges that:

  • provide summer instruction in mathematics and/or English (i.e., academic and college-readiness skills) and advising support to ensure that students earning the modified competency determination function successfully in postsecondary education;

  • provide students earning the modified competency determination access to degree-bearing college credit courses or preparation work at no cost through participation in the summer program and lead towards enrolling in credited mathematics and English coursework in the fall semester; and

  • successfully enroll and retain class of 2021 students graduating under the modified competency determination;

  • create clear, effective pathways to degree programs, certificate programs, and/or careers for students upon completion of the program designed to fill in academic gaps for students earning the modified competency determination


DESE is supporting efforts to recruit students earning the modified competency determination for these community college programs. These programs will be offered in 14 community colleges across the Commonwealth. If you have students who would be interested in such programming, we ask that school counselors, administrators, and other adult advocates, please contact the following for more information.

CollegeName of ContactEmail
Berkshire Community CollegeLaurie Gordy or T.J. Karis or Karen Ruiz León lgordy@berkshirecc.edu; tkaris@berkshirecc.edu; kruizleon@berkshirecc.edu
Bristol Community CollegeKate O'Hara kate.ohara@bristolcc.edu
Bunker Hill Community CollegeSteve Prudent or Guy Armand or Rob Carvajal swpruden@bhcc.edu; garmand@bhcc.edu; rjcarvaj@bhcc.edu
Cape Cod Community CollegeChristine McCarey cmccarey@capecod.edu
Holyoke Community CollegeMark Hudgik mhudgik@hcc.edu
Mass Bay Community CollegeBarbara Bernard bbernard@massbay.edu
Massasoit Community CollegeCheryl Ryan cryan26@massasoit.mass.edu
Middlesex Community CollegeNoreen McGinness Olson or Ellen Grondine mcginnessn@middlesex.mass.edu; grondinee@middlesex.mass.edu
Mount Wachusett Community CollegeAdam Duggan aduggan2@mwcc.mass.edu
North Shore Community CollegeAdam Cutler acutler@northshore.edu
Northern Essex Community CollegeDonna Bertolino dbertolino@necc.mass.edu
Quinsigamond Community CollegeJulio "Jay" Zayas jzayas@qcc.mass.edu
Roxbury Community CollegeMaggie Marseille mmarseille1@rcc.mass.edu
Springfield Technical Community CollegeDarcey Kemp dlkemp@stcc.edu




Last Updated: April 26, 2021



 
Contact Us

Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
75 Pleasant Street, Malden, MA 02148-4906

Voice: (781) 338-3000
TTY: (800) 439-2370

Directions

Disclaimer: A reference in this website to any specific commercial products, processes, or services, or the use of any trade, firm, or corporation name is for the information and convenience of the public and does not constitute endorsement or recommendation by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.