Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Logo
Center for Instructional Support

Massachusetts Digital Literacy and Computer Science Standards Panel

The Department is collaborating with the Massachusetts Computing Attainment Network, (MassCAN), an alliance of organizations advocating for computer science in school, on the development of voluntary Digital Literacy and Computer Science Standards for Massachusetts schools. A review panel, representing diverse perspectives, was formed to guide this work. The panel reviewed existing computer science standards and the current Technology Literacy standards. The panel met from June 2014 through May 2015 to draft Digital Literacy and Computer Science standards.

Related Resources:

Overview of the review process

June 2014 – November 2014Begin Phase 1 — Research and Develop RecommendationsStatus
 The first phase of the Panel's work is the development and presentation of recommendations for the standards to the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE).Completed
November 2014 – May 2015Begin Phase 2 — Standards Writing 
 The second phase focuses on revising and developing state learning standards based on the recommendations of phase one.Completed
May 2015 – June 2016Begin Phase 3 — Formal Adoption of Standards 
 The third phase is dedicated to completing standards (based on Phase 2) by seeking public input, both from the field and external organizations with expertise in digital literacy and computer science, making final revisions, and final adoption by BESE.Completed


Please direct inquiries about the Digital Literacy and Computer Science Standards Panel to .

DLCS Review Panel Members:

NamePosition and District/Organization
Elementary Teachers/Faculty
Lauren DietzInstructional Technology Specialist, Newton Public Schools, Newton
Rayna FreedmanTeacher/ITS, Jordan and Jackson Elementary, Mansfield
John HeffernanTechnology Teacher, Ann T. Dunphy School, Williamsburg
Sue HowardInstructional Technology Specialist, Concord Public Schools, Concord
Middle School Teachers/Faculty
Kriss AhoTechnology /Engineering Teacher, Collins Middle School, Salem
David DigiammerinoTechnology Teacher, Millis Public School, Millis
Carla FitzgeraldSocial Studies Teacher, Marshal Middle School, BillericaPhase 1
Nancy Lanza-WelshComputer Teacher, Richardson Middle School, Dracut
High School Teachers/Faculty
Jennifer DimmickLibrary Teacher, Newton South High School, Newton
Chad McGowanTeacher, Ashland High School, Ashland
Jessica ParsonMathematics and Computer Science Teacher, Milton High School, Milton
David PettyComputer Science Teacher, STEM Coordinator, Winchester Public School, Winchester
Charter Schools
George BracketPrincipal, George Brackett Associates; Co-founder of the Codman Academy Charter Public School
Alec ResnickDirector, Sprout & Co./Somerville STEAM Academy, SomervillePhase 1
Vocational Schools
Jeff LeBoeufTeacher, Worcester Technical High SchoolPhase 1
Linda HerbisonBusiness Teacher, Montachusett Regional Vocational Technical School, Fitchburg
Administrators, Coordinators, and Department Heads
Robert AckermanPrincipal, Lane School, BedfordPhase 1
Robert FordDirector of Technology, Lincoln Public Schools, Lincoln
Wendy HaskellDirector of Technology and Library/Media, Falmouth Public School, Falmouth
Diane HauserSenior Program Director, Educational Technology, Boston Public Schools, Boston
Michael LooneyCurriculum Chair, Technology Department, Mashpee High School, Mashpee
Higher Education
W. Richards AdrionProfessor Emeritus of Computer Science, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Deborah BoisvertExecutive Director of the Boston-Area Advanced Technological Education Connections (BATEC), University of Massachusetts Boston
Kim CochraneCoordinator C&I Technology and Education Technology, Framingham State University
Kathi FislerProfessor of Computer Science, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Kimberle KoileResearch Scientist, MIT, Center for Educational Computing Initiatives, Cambridge
Fred MartinAssociate Professor, University of Massachusetts Lowell
Susanne Steizer-EscobarComputer Science Faculty and Department Chair, MassBay Community College, Wellesley
Business or Organization
Delcie BeanPresident, Paragus Strategic IT, Springfield
Ayora BerryGlobal Schools Manager, PTC Inc., Needham
David BirnbachSchool Committee Member, Andover
Shelley ChamberlainExecutive Director of MassCUE, Waltham
Mark CheckMuseum of Science, BostonPhase 1
Sandra ColePrincipal Systems Engineer, The MITRE Corporation, Bedford
Benjamin DavisonQuantitative User Experience Researcher, Google, Inc., Cambridge
Jen GoreeSoftware Portfolio and Project Manager, The Concord Consortium, Concord
Eric JewartSoftware Developer, Ab Initio; AP CS Teacher, Cambridge Rindge & Latin High School
Hamed NilforoshanStudent, Wellesley High School, Wellesley; CEO AlNoor GamesPhase 1
Vivian SiegelDirector of Education and Outreach, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, Cambridge
Peter WongDirector of University Relations, Museum of Science, Boston

Planning Group

NamePosition and District/Organization
Anne DeMallieMathematics Statewide Program Coordinator, Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Jake FosterDirector of Science, Technology/Engineering and Mathematics, Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
AJ KuppsCoordinator of Professional Learning Services and Accessibility, Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Joyce Malyn-SmithPrincipal Investigator Focusing on Strategic Initiatives in STEM Workforce & Human Development, MassCAN Education Development Center, Waltham
Kelly PowersProject Director, Education Development Center, WalthamPhase 1 & 2

Last Updated: December 10, 2018

Contact Us

Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
135 Santilli Highway, Everett, MA 02149

Voice: (781) 338-3000
TTY: (800) 439-2370


Disclaimer: A reference in this website to any specific commercial products, processes, or services, or the use of any trade, firm, or corporation name is for the information and convenience of the public and does not constitute endorsement or recommendation by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.