Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Logo
aMAzing Educators

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST)

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching logo

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are the nation's highest honors for teachers of mathematics and science (including computer science). Awardees reflect the expertise and dedication of the nation's teaching corps, and they demonstrate the positive impact of excellent teachers on student achievement. The National Science Foundation administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Since 1983, more than 5,000 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession. If you know great teachers, nominate them to join this prestigious network of professionals.

The award alternates between elementary (grade K–6) and middle/high school teachers (grades 7–12). The application cycle opens in August and applications are due in February. To nominate or be notified when the application cycle opens, please visit: Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching website

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Teach mathematics or science (including computer science) as part of their contracted teaching responsibilities at the 7–12 grade level in a public (including charter), or private school.

  • Hold at least a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution.

  • Be a full-time employee of the school or school district as determined by state and district policies, with responsibilities for teaching students no less than 50% of the school's allotted instructional time.

  • Have at least five years of full-time employment as a K–12 teacher during which mathematics or science (including computer science) has been a part of the applicant's teaching duties.

  • Teach in one of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Department of Defense Education Activity schools, or the U.S. territories as a group (American Samoa, Guam, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and U.S. Virgin Islands).

  • Be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident.

  • Not have received the PAEMST award at the national level in any prior competition or category.

Recipients of the award receive the following:

  • A certificate signed by the President of the United States.

  • A paid trip to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities.

  • A $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

  • An opportunity to build lasting partnerships with colleagues across the nation.

To nominate teachers, please go to Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching website.

Recent State Finalists

Every year, Massachusetts can put forward up to six State Finalists to be considered in the National Selection Process.

Congratulations to these recent State Finalists!

  • 2024 — Elementary Educators (grades K–6)
    • Ashleigh Cardarelli, Dolbeare Elementary School, Wakefield — Math
    • Benjamin Ligon, Chenery Upper Elementary School, Belmont — Science
    • Debra Regensburger, Hemenway Elementary School, Framingham — Math
    • Kathleen Shaw, Plymouth Community Intermediate, Plymouth — Science
    • Laura Weiss, Potter Road Elementary School, Framingham — Math

  • 2023 — Secondary Educators (grades 7–12)
    • Lauren Aubertine, Greater New Bedford Regional Vocational Technical High School — Math
    • Elsa Herraez Hernandez, Monument Mountain Regional High School, Great Barrington — Science
    • Jacqueline Macharia, Luther Burbank Middle School, Lancaster — Math
    • Benadette Manning, Boston Day and Evening Academy, Boston — Math
    • Kristin Newton, Cambridge Rindge and Latin, Cambridge — Science
    • Allen Wang, KIPP Academy Lynn Collegiate, Lynn — Science

  • 2022 — Elementary Educators (K–6)
    • Lisa Beauchemin — Mosier School, South Hadley — Mathematics
    • Alicia Beggs — John J. Ahern Middle School, Foxborough — Mathematics
    • Shane Jackson — Woodland Elementary, Milford — Mathematics
    • David Kujawski — Bird Middle School, Walpole — Science
    • Raushanah Muhammad — Richard J. Murphy K–8 School, Boston — Science

  • 2021 — Secondary Educators (grades 7–12)
    • Lauren Aubertine — Greater New Bedford Regional Vocational Technical School — Mathematics
    • Jeanne DeRosa — Burlington High School — Mathematics
    • Victoria Miles — Middleborough High School — Mathematics
    • Michael Romano — Acton-Boxborough Regional High School — Science
    • Ariel Serkin — Norfolk County Agricultural School — Science
    • Karen Ziminski-Callender — Richard J Murphy K–8 School — Science

National Awardees have not yet been announced for 2021 and 2022.

Recent National Awardees

From the state finalists, the national selection committee may choose up to 2 National Awardees.

Congratulations to these recent National Presidential Awardees!

  • 2020 — Elementary Educators (grades K–6)
    • Daniel Adler — UP Academy Leonard — Science
    • Laura Richardson — Edith C. Baker School — Science

To find out more about these awardees, visit the PAEMST site!

Last Updated: May 9, 2024

Contact Us

Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
135 Santilli Highway, Everett, MA 02149

Voice: (781) 338-3000
TTY: (800) 439-2370


Disclaimer: A reference in this website to any specific commercial products, processes, or services, or the use of any trade, firm, or corporation name is for the information and convenience of the public and does not constitute endorsement or recommendation by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.