Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Logo
Kaleidoscope Collective for Learning

Our Work

The Kaleidoscope Collective for Learning has engaged in work across Massachusetts with educators at all levels.

Cohort 2: Boston Public Schools

Cohort 2 was launched in Spring 2021 as a partnership with 15 schools in the Boston Public School district, located in East Boston, the North End, and Charlestown. Cohort 2 will collaborate with Kaleidoscope in a 5-year project to engage in Deeper Learning as well as provide critical feedback on Kaleidoscope's tools and resources. The cohort includes schools of varying types and grade spans:

  • East Boston High School
  • Charlestown High School
  • Bradley Elementary School
  • O'Donnell Elementary School
  • Otis Elementary School
  • Harvard-Kent Elementary School
  • Alighieri Dante Montessori School
  • Adams Elementary School
  • Guild Elementary School
  • PJ Kennedy Elementary School
  • McKay K-8 School
  • Mario Umana Dual Language Academy
  • McKay K-8 School
  • Warren-Prescott K-8 School
  • Eliot K-8 Innovation School
  • East Boston Early Education Center

Kaleidoscope Educator Network

The Kaleidoscope Educator Network launched in Fall 2022 in partnership with TNTP. In this program, schools and districts from across Massachusetts interested in transforming their existing use of high-quality instructional materials through Deeper Learning practices and professional learning. This Network includes finalists and semi-finalists from the State Teacher of the Year contest, as well as educators from the following districts:

  • CREST (Collaborative for Regional Educational Service and Training)
  • Marblehead
  • Medway
  • New Heights Charter School of Brockton
  • Northbridge
  • Southeastern Regional Vocational Technical
  • Springfield

Cohort 1: Pilot

Cohort 1 was established in January 2020. Nearly 500 schools, districts, and collaboratives expressed early interest in the pilot program, and 21 schools were selected for the inaugural cohort. These schools had already begun innovative work involving Deeper Learning and were eager to build upon that work. The cohort includes schools of varying types, grade spans, and geographical areas:

  • Boston: Academy of the Pacific Rim Charter Public School
  • Andover: Andover High School and High Plain Elementary School
  • Berkshire Hills Regional: W.E.B. Du Bois Middle School (Great Barrington)
  • Boston: Eliot K-8 Innovation School and TechBoston Academy
  • Essex North Shore Agricultural & Technical School District (Danvers)
  • Fitchburg: South Street School
  • Lawrence: ENLACE Academy at Lawrence High School and UP Academy Leonard
  • Lincoln: K-4 Lincoln School
  • Mendon-Upton Regional: Nipmuc Regional High School (Upton)
  • Monomoy Regional: Chatham Elementary School (Chatham)
  • Nauset: Orleans Elementary School
  • North Attleborough: Amvet Boulevard School and North Attleborough Middle School
  • Randolph: Randolph Community Middle School
  • Revere: Abraham Lincoln Elementary School and Rumney Marsh Academy
  • Springfield: Chestnut Talented and Gifted Middle School and Mary M. Walsh Elementary School

Last Updated: September 23, 2022

Contact Us

Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
75 Pleasant Street, Malden, MA 02148-4906

Voice: (781) 338-3000
TTY: (800) 439-2370


Disclaimer: A reference in this website to any specific commercial products, processes, or services, or the use of any trade, firm, or corporation name is for the information and convenience of the public and does not constitute endorsement or recommendation by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.