Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Logo
Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System

Civics Test Design and Development

The MCAS grade 8 Civics assessment allows students to use their civics content knowledge and skills to explain and describe civics concepts, support claims with evidence, and analyze sources and graphics. It is made up of two components: a state-level performance task and an end-of-course (EOC) test. The state-level performance task will cover one of the seven grade 8 civics topics in the 2018 History and Social Science Framework , and the EOC test will cover the full breadth of the grade 8 civics standards. To help to prepare students for the state-level performance tasks, local-level classroom performance tasks have also been developed. More information about the test design and test materials are below.

Last Updated: March 26, 2024

Contact Us

Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
135 Santilli Highway, Everett, MA 02149

Voice: (781) 338-3000
TTY: (800) 439-2370


Disclaimer: A reference in this website to any specific commercial products, processes, or services, or the use of any trade, firm, or corporation name is for the information and convenience of the public and does not constitute endorsement or recommendation by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.