Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Logo
The Department has moved to 135 Santilli Highway in Everett. The Department's office and Licensure Welcome Center are open. The new location has free parking and is a short walk from the Wellington station on the MBTA's Orange Line.
Massachusetts Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE)

Board Documents — May 2020

Regular Meeting

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Tuesday, May 26, 2020, 2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
By Remote Participation Per Governor Baker's Emergency Order of March 12, 2020

Statements from the Public
Comments from the Chair
Comments from the Commissioner
Comments from the Secretary


Routine Business:

Approval of the Minutes of the April 28, 2020 Regular Meeting

Agenda Items:

  1. Update on COVID-19 Action Steps to Support Schools, Students, and Families Discussion

  2. 2020 Massachusetts Teacher of the Year, Takeru Nagayoshi Presentation and Discussion

  3. High School MCAS Testing Plans and Proposed Modifications to Competency Determination Requirement Due to COVID-19 Emergency Discussion and Vote

    1. Statutory language
    2. Motion

  4. Update on Education Budget Matters — Discussion

  5. Student Opportunity Act: Regulations on District Plans, 603 CMR 55.00 Discussion and Vote to Adopt Permanent Regulations

    1. Letter of Comment from Rep. Alice Peisch, April 10, 2020
    2. Proposed Regulations on Student Opportunity Act District Plans, 603 CMR 55.00
    3. Motion

  6. Proposed Schedule for Regular Board Meetings through June 2021 Discussion

Other Items for Information:

  1. Report on Grants Approved by the Commissioner

The matters listed above are those reasonably anticipated by the Chair of the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education to be discussed at the meeting. Not all items listed may in fact be discussed and other items, not listed, may also be brought up for discussion, to the extent such is permitted by law.

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education Members

  • Ms. Katherine Craven, Chair, Brookline
  • Mr. James Morton, Vice Chair, Boston
  • Ms. Amanda Fernández, Belmont
  • Mr. Matt Hills, Newton
  • Mr. Michael Moriarty, Holyoke
  • Mr. James Peyser, Secretary of Education, Milton
  • Mr. Paymon Rouhanifard, Brookline
  • Ms. Mary Ann Stewart, Lexington
  • Mr. Matthew Tibbitts, Student Advisory Council, Ludlow
  • Dr. Martin West, Newton

Jeffrey C. Riley, Commissioner
Secretary to the Board

* The Board welcomes public comment on matters within its purview. Accordingly, the Board makes available a maximum 30-minute period at its regular meetings for persons to address the Board for no longer than 3 minutes.

If you are interested in providing public comment for the Tuesday, May 26, 2020 regular meeting, please submit an email request to by 12:00pm, Friday, May 22, 2020. Once confirmed, we will provide you with information on how to participate virtually. Written material of any length may be submitted and is encouraged. Written testimony, and other inquiries may be transmitted by mail, e-mail, or telephone to: Massachusetts Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, 75 Pleasant Street, Malden, MA 02148, Phone: 781-3383112, E-mail: Preference will be given to persons who seek to address the Board on specific agenda items for the upcoming Board meeting.

Last Updated: May 19, 2020

Contact Us

Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
135 Santilli Highway, Everett, MA 02149

Voice: (781) 338-3000
TTY: (800) 439-2370


Disclaimer: A reference in this website to any specific commercial products, processes, or services, or the use of any trade, firm, or corporation name is for the information and convenience of the public and does not constitute endorsement or recommendation by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.